The Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia played host to the highly anticipated Aussie Millions over the past few weeks, with events scheduled from January 17th through February 5th. One of the last events on the schedule for the Aussie Millions was the AU$1,150 No-Limit Hold’em Shot Clock tournament. The event saw 242 players competing, with a total prize pool of A$248,050 created. In the end, it was Kenny Hallaert who earned the first-place finish, after defeating Dzmitry Urbanovich in heads-up play.

The poker event was a great success in 2018, having seen a 48% increase when comparing the total number of entries from last year. According to PokerNews, in 2017, only 163 players competed in the event. This year, 27 players would be cashing out during the tournament, with everyone vying for a top spot finish. Once the final table whittled down to just two players, Hallaert and Urbanovich would have to duke it out to see who would earn the title win.

Urbanovich was unable to get past Hallaert, who would eventually secure the win, earning his first ever Aussie Millions title. The win was certainly welcome by the pro as he had just finished in second place during Event #20, the A$2,500 No-Limit Hold’em Six Max Shot Clock event, narrowly missing out on a title win. Hallaert was disappointed to have come so close and yet lost the event, but happy to have finally earned a win in Event #23.

Final Results of Event #23:

Place Player Prize
First Kenny Hallaert A$59,535
Second Dzmitry Urbanovich A$38,450
Third Jon Kyte A$24,810
Fourth Matthew Howearth A$19,850
Fifth Matt Affleck A$15,630
Sixth Charles Caris A$12,405
Seventh Mike Guttman A$9,925
Eighth Brian Elsheik A$8,060
Ninth David Leas A$6,200
Tenth Mihai Barbu A$4,960