For a second Season 7 stop, the Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT) will return to the FireKeepers Casino Hotel in Battle Creek, Michigan to kick off the Michigan State Poker Championship.

Back in May, the Nottawaseppi Huron Band of Potawatomi-owned and operated casino was host to an unprecedented 820 entrants in what was the largest event in the history of the Mid-States Poker Tour outside of Las Vegas. The huge number of entrants created a $820,000 total prize pool, more than doubling the advertised $300,000 guarantee.

MSPT President Bryan Mileski, said that the turnout in May blew them away and that, “Poker in Michigan is as strong as ever, which is evidenced by the fact that WSOP champs Joe Cada and Ryan Riess both hail from the Wolverine State, as well as MSPT Season 4 and 5 Players of the Year Pat Steele and Mike Deis. Here’s hoping our eighth visit to the property is the best yet!,” according to the press release.

Leading up to this coming weekend’s Main Event, which has a $1,100 buy-in and a $300,000 guarantee, a series of $65 and $250 qualifiers have been held. Players must be 21 years of age or older to participate in the poker Main Event, which features three starting flights that begin today at 4pm, with days 1b and 1c to be held at 12pm EST on Friday, October 14 and Saturday, October 15, respectively. A combination of each flight’s remaining players will meet at 11am on Sunday morning and battle until the last man is standing and a champion is crowned.

The MSPT Poker website will air a live broadcast, with a 15-minute delay, of the Main Event final table. Radio-frequency identification (RFID) technology will be used that will enable the hole cards to be seen by viewers. The Main Even in its entirety will also be reported live in the MSPT’s live blog, which will be viewable on the website once the tournament commences; just look for the neon green “Live Updates” button. The complete MSPT Michigan State Poker Championship schedule (pdf) can be accessed at the website as well.

Poker pro, Aaron Massey won the record-setting event in May; taking home $174,658. The Michigan State Poker Championship, however, is held only once a year. Beating out 559 entries last year, Michael Ferraroti won the coveted title and $134,642, while the previous year’s winner, Ryan Dykhouse, beat out 517 entrants to leave with $124,500. The latter event was the inaugural Michigan State Poker Championship, according to the news release.