After defeating Renata Teixeira de Paulo during the Latin American Poker Tour Main Event, Oscar Alache Orrego earned his second LAPT Main Event win. After claiming the title, Oscar became just the third player to ever win two Main Event titles of the Latin American Poker tour.

Oscar won the event in front of a home crowd and could not have been happier, taking down the first place prize in front of the many fans and fellow players who converged at the Casino Enjoy Vina del Mar. His first win took place last year when he competed in the Peruvian event provided by During the win, Oscar outlasted 692 players to earn the first place title which gave him just over $135,000 in cash for the win.

In this most recent event, the player did not have to work his way through such a large field of competitors. In this LAPT event, 410 players hit the felt in the hopes of earning a cashout, with $904,460 up for grabs. Once play whittled down to four remaining players, a deal was struck so everyone would earn a nice payout.

Besides Oscar and de Paulo, Javier Venegas and Nacho Barbero were also in on the final four deal. Once the four way deal was made, the remaining players had an additional $20,000 available to compete for. Renata Teixeira de Paulo and Oscar would make it to heads up play, with Renata trying to be the first female competitor to earn a Latin American Poker Tour Main Event win. Teixeira is the one female to make it the furthest during an LAPT Main Event.

The Latin American Poker Tour is now in its fifth season and the South Americans continue to dominate the field, with the most players competing from Argentina, Brazil and Chile. Players from China and Europe were also on hand to try and earn a top finish.

After the big win, Oscar then started the $200 Pot Limit Omaha Side Event and won it as well. This is the very first time a player has won a Main Event and Side event during the LAPT.

Final Results:

  1. Oscar Alache (Chile) — $131,962*
  2. Renata Teixeira (Brazil) — $113,460*
  3. Javier Venegas (Argentina) — $86,505*
  4. Nacho Barbero (Argentina) — $100,073*
  5. Justo Esquivel Lagos (Chile) — $51,460
  6. Fabian Chauriye (Chile) — $39,620
  7. Rodrigo Quezada (Chile) — $29,480
  8. Rodrigo Oliver (Chile) — $21,340

*part of four way deal